lessons about home…

Awhile back I heard a poem about homes and family that really moved me… As of recent I haven’t been able to stop listening to it as It reminds me of my home in Seattle sheds new insight on my home here in new zealand.

It’s a rare condition, this day and age,
to read any good news on the newspaper page.
Love and tradition of the grand design,
some people say it’s even harder to find.

Well then there must be some magic clue inside these gentle walls
Cause all I see is a tower of dreams
real love burstin’ out of every seam.

As days go by,
we’re gonna fill our house with happiness.
The moon may cry,
we’re gonna smother the blues with tenderness.

When days go by,
there’s room for you,
room for me,
for gentle hearts an opportunity.

As days go by,
it’s the bigger love of the family.

you can get the full effect of the poem here, and I hope it takes you back to places you never remembered.

But really in all seriousness I miss my home, my girlfriend, my family, and my friends. Even stupid things like family matters (which apparently never made it this far south) that bring back sooo much nostalgia can feel pretty lame when most people down here have never heard the theme song.

Back in Seattle, most of the time I feel like Eddie Winslow; Cool, informed, helpful, squeaky clean and taking good steps forward toward achieving my goals. New Zealand can sometimes make me feel like Urkel; Nerdy, out of place, socially awkward, overly intelligent (you should see some of the faces when I tell them I’ve graduated college), and struggling to find my niche.

I know that this change of environment is good for me but sometimes I just want my family (community) back… and the complete 9 season set of Family Matters on DVD.

.

.

.

.

I think seeing Carly in 3 days will make me feel pretty cool again.

~ by taylorehanson on July 26, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
